This article is for users who are a Sub-admin on their FileTransfer.net site. If you are unsure of whether or not you're a Sub-admin, contact a site Admin by selecting "Help" in the upper-right corner of the site and looking under "Contact".
The Manage Users Tab
Clicking the Manage Users tab will display the users that belong to workspaces you are a Sub-admin of. Rolling over the Actions menu to the right of any user will provide a list of actions that can be performed:
Edit allows you to edit the user's information, workspaces, permissions, etc. This can also be accomplished by clicking on the user name itself. See below for additional information on editing the user. Selecting multiple users by clicking the box to the left of their name and choosing Edit from the Batch Actions menu will enable you to edit the permissions, notification settings and other criteria for multiple people at the same time. NOTE: Any information edited in this way will apply to ALL selected users. If any individual requires different settings or information, they must be edited individually.
By choosing Email User you can send an email directly to the user through the site. If you wish, you can include a custom Subject line. Clicking "Send a copy to myself?" will CC the message to yourself. Selecting multiple users and choosing Email from the Batch Actions menu will allow you to send an email to all selected users.
Add to Workspaces allows you quickly edit which workspaces the user belongs to. To add the user to another workspace not already listed, begin typing part of the workspace name. Workspaces matching what has been typed so far will appear in a list below the field and you can quickly add that workspace to the user. To remove workspaces from the user, click "Remove" below the workspace name or select multiple workspaces by clicking the box to the left of the name and select "Delete" from the Batch Actions menu at the top. When finished, click the blue Select User Workspaces at the bottom. Selecting multiple users and choosing Set Workspaces will let you choose which workspaces all selected users will belong to. NOTE: Pay special attention to the warning message presented on the screen regarding deletion of all current workspaces.
Clicking Reset Password from the Actions Menu will reset the password for that specific user. After clicking "Reset Password" again from the confirmation screen, the user will receive a Password Reset notification email from the site with their username and new temporary password. After logging in with the temporary password, the user will be directed to create a new password of their choosing. Selecting multiple users and choosing Reset Password from the Batch Actions menu will allow you to simultaneously reset the password for all selected users.
To edit an existing user on the site, simply click their name or select "Edit" from the Actions menu to the right of their name. Any of the information appearing in the fields under User Info can be edited as needed. Fields with an asterisk are required. Be sure to click "Edit User" when finished. Note: If you edit a user's Username you will need to inform the user of the change or do a Password Reset from the Action menu on the Manage Users tab. Adding or removing the user from workspaces or adding custom permissions for a workspace can be done from the Manage Workspaces tab. Editing a user's base permissions and notifications must be done by an Admin.
To add a new user to the site, click the blue Add User button on the Manage Users tab. This will open a window that will allow you to enter the user's name, email address, username, etc. under the User Info section. Fields with a red asterisk are required.
Permissions and Notifications
This area is where you set the user's permissions – what they are allowed to do on the site. At least one permission needs to be given in order to create the user.
Having "Allow this user to reset their password?" checked allows the user to reset their own password from the login screen, should they forget it. If this is unchecked, the user will need to have an Admin or Sub-admin reset their password for them.
Upload Notifications and Download Notifications allows the user to be automatically notified whenever a file is uploaded and/or downloaded from a workspace they belong to. Note that if Upload Notifications is unchecked, someone uploading a file can still manually select the user's name to receive a notification.
When Activation is checked, the user will immediately receive their new user notification from the site containing a link to the site, their username and a temporary password (which they reset at first login). If this is unchecked when the user is created, the user will not receive their login credentials and thus not be able to log in. This allows you time, if needed, to finish preparing the workspace(s) and uploading any required files and can be activated later.
Note: If a user has been added by a Sub-admin and not activated, an Admin is required to set that user as Active.
The User Workspaces on the right side of the screen is for defining which workspace(s) a user should have access to. If they do not belong to a workspace, they will not be able to even see the workspace, so any files within are completely inaccessible to them. As a Sub-admin, you can add a user to any workspace you are a Sub-admin of, but ONLY those workspaces. A user must belong to at least one workspace in order for the user to be created.
You can add the user you're creating to workspaces two different ways:
1. You can begin typing in the provided field which will then display a list of workspaces that match what you have typed so far. You can then click on one of the displayed workspaces to add.
2. You can click the View All Workspaces link to see a list of all workspaces you can add the user to. Click on the workspace names you wish to add and then click Save Selection.
User Templates aid in the creation of new users by providing a way to automatically input often-used information, such as email suffix, permissions and notifications, workspaces, etc. To create a template, click on the User Template button just above the top Add User button and select "Create a New Template" which will cause the Add User Template to appear.
First, give the template a name. Then, add any information you wish to be able to apply automatically when creating a new user. This could be only the permissions, the permissions and notifications, or any combination of the fields and checkboxes presented on the screen. Keep in mind that you can create as many different templates as you need. Once you have the information you want entered, click Add User Template. This will bring you back to the Add User screen.
Select the User Template drop down menu again and select the template you just created. You'll see the information entered in the template is applied automatically to the fields. At this time you can alter any information automatically entered or add any information not contained in the template. When finished click Add User to create.
When finished entering all of the information for the new user, be sure to click Add User.
Adding Existing Users to Workspaces
There may be times in which you need to add an existing user to one of the workspaces you manage. How to accomplish this depends on a setting in the Control Panel (only accessible to Admins) found under Control Panel --> Settings --> Security --> Sub-Admin Privileges. If this setting is disabled, you will only be able to see users you've added or have been added by an Admin. If it is enabled, you will be able to see all users on the site and add any of them to the workspaces you manage. You may wish to talk with one of your site Admins to discuss if enabling this feature is appropriate for your company. IMPORTANT: If any Sub-admins on your site do not work for your company – such as a client, customer, vendor, etc. – it is strongly advised that you do not enable this feature. Doing so will allow all Sub-admins to see all users, potentially creating a security risk.