The FileDrop allows non-users to securely upload files to your site without having to log in.
When the FileDrop is enabled there is an "Upload via the FileDrop" area on the right side of the login screen. Clicking this displays the FileDrop interface, which provides fields for the person wishing to send a file to enter their info, drag and drop files (or browse to select), an area to select recipients, and a field to include an optional message. When they click Upload Files, the files they've attached will be uploaded to a workspace called FileDrop on your site. They never log in and they never see anyone else's files.
After changing any of the settings below, be sure to click the blue "Update FileDrop Settings" button to apply the changes.
After the feature has been enabled for the first time, a workspace called "FileDrop" will appear directly below the Home workspace. All files uploaded through the FileDrop interface will appear in this workspace.
If enabled, guests can upload files through the FileDrop feature on the login page and will not be able to view files on your site. Otherwise, only users who can log in can upload to the site.
When disabled, the links in notification emails sent to recipients will allow for the download of the uploaded FileDrop files without having to log in. If the documents you typically receive are sensitive in nature, enabling this feature will force the recipient to log in before being allowed to download the files. If the notification email were to be viewed by someone other than the intended recipient, this insures the files could not be downloaded.
Selecting "Enable" hides the link to the FileDrop from your home page, but does not disabled it. You will need to send the URL to any guests who need to upload files to the FileDrop.
Selecting "Enable" hides the "Select All" link underneath the Select Recipients menu, preventing guests from selecting all recipients at once.
Text added in this field will appear on the FileDrop interface. This will allow you to provide assistance or direction for your FileDrop users, such as "Please select a recipient before uploading".
You can set custom permissions or notifications for the FileDrop workspace which overrides member base permissions while they are within this workspace. Please see this link for more information:
Adding users to the FileDrop workspace allows you to do two things; 1) give them access to the files within the workspace, and/or 2) add them to the Recipients list so people uploading files through the FileDrop can select their name to receive an email notification about the files.
As with other workspaces, Admins are already members by default (since the automatically belong to all workspaces). To add regular users, begin by typing their name, username or email address into the "Start typing a user or group name" field, or click "View All Users/Groups" and select the users you wish to add.
Once a user is added, the "Workspace Access" toggle will be set to on (green), giving the user access to the workspace. If you don't wish the user to have access, toggle this off (gray). If you wish the user to appear in the Recipients list, toggle the "Add to Recipient List" on. Once you have users set the way you wish, click the Update FileDrop Setting button to save the changes. Note: If both Workspace Access and Recipient List switches are set to "off", the user will be removed from the list as there is no use to having the user on the list without having at least one option enabled.
Direct Link to the FileDrop Interface
Users can access the FileDrop interface from the link on the home page (when enabled and "Hide FileDrop from Login Page" is disabled), but you may wish to provide a direct link to the FileDrop to eliminate the step of going to the login page first. The direct URL (address) of your FileDrop page can be found under the "Hide FileDrop from Login Page" section, to the right of the "Enable" button. Simply select and copy this link to pass along as needed.