Restore Deleted Files provides a way to recover deleted files for up to 999 days. When enabled, any files deleted from the My Files tab will appear in the Deleted Files tab near the top of the page where they will remain for the amount of time set by an Administrator. Files that remain in the Deleted Files tab continue to count towards storage limits until they are permanently deleted.
For the purposes of this article, deleted files will refer to files that have been deleted from the My Files tab interface and appear in the Deleted Files tab. Permanently deleted files will refer to files completely removed from the site.
|IMPORTANT: Once a file is permanently deleted, it cannot be recovered by either an Admin or FileGenius support staff. Only files deleted after the launch of the feature (10/20/19) will be available to restore.|
Admins can restore any deleted file, regardless of who deleted it. Admins can also restore entire deleted workspaces, with the option of selecting specific files to be restored without restoring all. Only Admins can enable Restore Deleted files and set site-wide or workspace-specific time periods.
Sub-admins can restore any file deleted from a workspace the Sub-admin manages, regardless of who deleted it. For workspaces they belong to but don't manage, Sub-admin can only restore files they themselves have deleted. They cannot restore entire workspaces, but can restore all files they have deleted in a workspace via the “Restore All” button in the Deleted Files tab.
Users can only restore files they themselves have deleted. Users cannot restore entire workspaces, but can restore all files they have deleted in a workspace via the “Restore All” button in the Deleted Files tab.
Enabling Restore Deletes
An Admin can enable Restore Deleted Files by going to Control Panel > Settings > File Management. Under “Restore Deleted Files” the Admin can set site-wide and/or per-workspace retention policies.
The Deleted Files tab will appear if there is a global or workspace retention policy set. If not the tab will disappear.
When deleting a file that has a site-wide or current workspace retention policy, a window will appear and display how long the file will be retained.
When a file or folder is deleted and retained, it will disappear from the main file listing in the My Files tab and appear in the Deleted Files tab under its proper location (workspace and folder path).
Under the Deleted Files tab, the user is initially taken to a list of workspaces that contain files the user is eligible to restore. If a user clicks on a workspace name they will be shown a listing of folders/files that can be restored in that workspace. Rolling over the Actions menu for any file/folder and selecting "Restore" will restore those folders/files to their original location and remove them from the Deleted Files tab. If multiple workspaces/folders/files are selected by checking the box to the left of the name, the Batch Actions Menu will become active at the top of the file listing, allowing for multiple restores at once.
If the user rolls over the Actions menu for a workspace and clicks “Restore All”, all files based on their user status (see “Roles” above) will be restored and disappear from the Deleted Files view.
If an entire workspace has been deleted via Manage Workspaces, Admins can restore the entire thing. Restoring an entire workspace will do the following:
- Restore all user/user group memberships
- Restore all sub-admins
- Restore all custom workspace permissions/notifications
- Restore all workspace override permissions/notifications
- Restore all file management settings for the workspace
The Admin will also have the option to restore all files in the workspace. One reason an Admin may not want to restore all files is if they want the workspace back but do not want to make all files immediately available, or if they want to only selectively restore files. In this case they would proceed on the normal file restoration process after the workspace restoration has completed.
If any part of the file path had been previously deleted (for example, trying to delete a single file inside a deleted folder), the entire folder path will be recreated.
Permanently Deleting Files
Within the Deleted Files tab, rolling over the Actions menu next to any workspace/folder/file will also display a "Permanently Delete" option. Selecting this and confirming the delete will permanently delete the file from the system and free up any storage space being used.
If multiple workspaces/folders/files are selected by checking the box to the left of the name, the Batch Actions Menu will become active at the top of the file listing, allowing for multiple deletions at once.
|IMPORTANT: Once a file is permanently deleted, it cannot be recovered by either an Admin or FileGenius support staff.|
Deleted Files Search
Under Deleted Files the user can search for a Deleted File by name. This search is a bit different as in there are no advanced search options, but the the search does span all deleted files the user has access to, and includes a link to view the file’s location within Deleted Files.