A workspace is an area that groups together a set of files – you can think of it as a "master folder". Administrators create workspaces and assign users to them based on who should have access. Workspaces can be used to house files for a variety of things, such as internal resources (HR, Billing, Accounting, etc.), projects, client or customers or for any other situation where a set of files should be grouped together.
After logging in you will see you are in the "My Files" tab with a list of one or more workspaces under the "Your Workspaces" column on the left side of the page. The workspace you are currently in will be highlighted in yellow and bolded, and the files available to you in the center of the screen. If you belong to only one workspace, this is the only area you have access to and you cannot change what workspace you are in.
If you belong to more than one workspace, the additional workspaces will appear on the left alphabetically. By clicking the name you immediately move to that workspace and have access to the files available therein.
If you belong to multiple workspaces, it is important to pay attention to which workspace you are currently in before uploading files. If you upload sensitive or important files to the wrong workspace they could be viewed by people who shouldn't have access to them.
If you belong to 15 or more workspaces, you will also see an additional blue text link at the top of the Your Workspaces list, called "View Options". Clicking this will display a window that will allow you to choose how you wish to view your workspaces:
- All My Workspaces
- Recently Visited Workspaces (with 7 days, 30 days, 6 months and 6 months options)
- Selected Workspaces
The Selected Workspaces option will allow you to choose which workspaces you wish to display. Just select the workspaces you wish to show so they're highlighted in yellow and then click "Set Workspace View Options".
If you have the View Options link and you have your workspaces displayed either by "Recently Visited" or "Selected", you will see an additional link at the bottom of the Your Workspaces list called "More". Clicking this will display a list of the workspaces not currently shown in Your Workspaces. Clicking a workspace from this list will add it to Your Workspaces and place you in it. If your View Options is set to "Selected", once you navigate away from the My Files tab (for instance, clicking on the My Activity tab), the workspace(s) selected from More will disappear, since it's not one of your selected workspaces. If your View Options is set to Recently Visited, the workspace will remain displayed for whatever period of time you have selected.