Business/Corporate Subscriptions Only
Control Panel —> Settings —> Security
The Security settings allow you to customize the level of security of your site.
Require Login for all notification links
For Upload/Send and Send, enabling this feature will cause the “Require login to access these files” feature to be selected by default, eliminating the need to check it each time a file is to be sent securely. If you wish to give your users the option to send a file without requiring a login, make sure “Allow users to override this setting” is checked.
Allow non-users to download files via a generated password if “Require Login” checked?
You can send files to non-users securely via password. Just enable this feature and Upload/Send and Send windows will include the ability to generate a password or accept one of your own choosing when sending to non-users.
Force a specific link expiration for all notification links?
Enabling this feature sets the link expiration for Upload/Sends and Sends to the default you set in the drop-down menu. If you wish to give your users the option to override this default, make sure “Allow users to override this setting” is checked.
This feature will allow you to set the minimum requirement for password formats for your user. You can check any or all of the following criteria:
- Minimum character length
- Include letters and numbers
- Include uppercase and lowercase letters
- Include special characters
- Doesn't match any user-identifiable info (username, email, first or last name)
Select the Enable radio button and check the box next to any of the criteria you wish your users to adhere to when creating their passwords at first login or after a password reset. Temporary passwords generated by the system when users are created or passwords reset will also honor these settings. Be sure to check “Update Settings” at the top or bottom of the page when finished.
IMPORTANT: When settings are changed that require stronger password (e.g. character length is increased), all users on your site will have their password reset. They will be sent a new temporary password and required to create a password that adheres to the new security settings. If settings are changed to require a less-secure password, users will not be required to reset their password and can continue to use their existing password.
Enabling this feature will force the user to reset their password after the selected number of days. Once a user’s password expires, the system will email the user a new temporary password which they will need to log in with to create their new password. If the “Remember Old Passwords” option is selected (see below), the user must choose a new password that doesn’t match any old ones extending back the selected number.
New User / Reset Password Temporary Password Expiration
These features will set the amount of time a temporary password assigned to a newly created user or password reset is valid before the user needs to issue a Forgot Password request or an Admin/Sub-admin resets their password from the Manage Users tab.
Remember Old Passwords
When enabled, users will not be able to create a new password that matches any of the passwords they used the past number of times set in the drop-down menu.
NOTE: This feature may not work until the user resets their password several times. This is because the system will not begin remembering passwords until the feature is enabled, so their current password is the only one the system will know. Subsequent password changes will be remembered up to the set number in the drop-down menu.
Restrict by IP Address
By enabling this feature, site Admins can restrict site access to traffic coming from only IP addresses listed in the provided field. Address can be included individually (e.g. 184.108.40.206) or as a range (e.g. 220.127.116.11-18.104.22.1686).
IMPORTANT: Please double-check with your IT personnel before enabling this feature. Admins and users may not be able to log into your site if there is any discrepancy regarding your own IP addresses.
NOTE: If Restrict by IP is enabled, the FileTransfers.net support staff may not be able to log into your site to provide customer support. You may need to temporarily disable this feature to allow for support access.
Allow Sub-Admins to Add Any User to Workspaces they Manage
If “Disabled” is selected, Sub-admins can only create new users to add to or remove from workspaces the Sub-admin manages. If “Enabled” is selected, the Sub-admin can add any site user to their managed workspaces as well as create new users.